So, it's been a rather shockingly bad two weeks. I'll be honest, it's been a hell of a lot better. I've worked with people I like better, I've been in happier places emotionally, and I've felt more secure in who I am and what I've achieved.
You know - less self-doubt and more self-belief. That sorta thing gets you places.
The quagmire I'm in has me swamped. And spinning my wheels. Not a happy place for someone like me, I like to move forward.
Added bonus! I've officially had my first back-stabbing! Joy, oh joy! The bitches have come out to play.
A week ago my group had its first expert visit. As I told you before, it went well for me (barely). Well, I asked my group director when the next one was, the reply, the following Friday - which should have been tomorrow.
In the library today I saw a member of my group and asked her what time the expert was coming and when to arrive. She replied with a rather disturbingly pleasant smile, "Oh, we tried to call you but it kept going through to voicemail. He was here earlier this week. We thought you knew."
"No. Actually, I didn't."
"Oh, well, Director was trying so hard to reach you. She just kept getting voicemail."
"I never saw a missed call or got a message."
"I'm sure she called."
"Okay, um, was anyone going to tell me?"
"Well, you'd missed it, so..."
"Right, okay thanks."
Bitch.
Not a full two minutes later I was on the good ol' gmail with a message to Director. She took full responsibility for it and apologised citing "psycho personal stuff".
Bitch, please. If it was worse than what's happened to me in the past two weeks you'd be on a flight to the States for the funeral.
And you aren't.
I've had friends either staying the night at my flat or having me 'round to theirs about every other night now for two weeks. A testament to how shit I'm doing as well as a testament to how brilliant my friends are.
Maybe people think I'm a lot more lackadaisical than I actually am. I'm not taking this one lying down. Tomorrow I'm off to at least inform our supervising tutor of what happened. Not in some revenge-fuelled quest to get Director back, but more to clear my name. Incompetence is death. Right now I'm coming across as lazy and unable to cope. Better clear that shit up now before it takes root.
Best to just make the tutor aware of what really happened. Get an apology over to Cheeky Charmer, who was the visiting expert in question, and finally make it clear who fucked up. From there, let the chips fall where they may.
I've been told to just wait for karma on all counts.
Note to karma: I'm gonna need you to do better.
No comments:
Post a Comment